Writer’s Retreat

Last year our little writer’s group decided we would shoot for taking two retreats a year where we really focus on writing. Our third retreat is this weekend and my excite-o-meter is set on SILLY. Because I am silly-excited. šŸ™‚

We have had two retreats that have proven that really focusing three hour blocks of time on writing is like a sprint: you cover some distance in a short amount of time. So going into this weekend, I know I will make some headway on my projects.

Yes, that is plural. I tried to make it so I would only focus on one, but God keeps stirring me with this second project. Yes, I am blaming God. šŸ™‚ So I will give at least one of the three hour blocks to this second project and see what comes.

There is nothing like spending focused time on your goal or dream or heart-wish. And that is exactly what we will be doing. We have been planning for it as we have worked over the past months so that we are all in a place to sprint. I can’t wait to see what is accomplished.

Plus we laugh a lot. Seriously. A.L.O.T. If laughter is good medicine, we are in for some healing time.

We leave tomorrow at noon and return Sunday. Then I treated myself to an extra day off work on Monday so I could continue the focus and downtime.

How about you? Do you have a goal or heart-wish that has been stirring inside you? Can you set aside a weekend or a day or a block of time to focus on it and see where it takes you?

Do it! It is so worth it: fulfilling, satisfying, and exciting all at the same time.

The Bible tells us “He gives us the desires of our heart.” Those desires might just be coming from Him. Give them some time. Award them some of your focused energy. You might be in for quite a treat!

Blessings!

Pat

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writer’s Retreat

  1. bredkrums says:

    My excite-meter is up there with you! I can’t wait to laugh. šŸ™‚
    Michelle

    Like

  2. bredkrums says:

    “Heart wish”…I love that. My heart wish is to be productive this weekend. And to spend some special time with awesome friends. And to see the MIssissippi from the bluffs. (How many heart wishes do we get???) And to write write write.
    Bev.

    Like

Leave a Reply

