What can you do with 5 minutes?

Life is broken into segments: years, months, weeks, days, hours, minutes. We break them into half days, two-hour blocks, length of our favorite TV show, etc. And oftentimes we feel that if we don’t have that “block” of time available, we can’t be productive. For instance, “I’ll write that as soon as I have time; I’ll get to that closet when I have a free afternoon, I’ll _____ when ____.”

What would happen, I ask you, if we used up all of our spare five minutes? What can happen in five minutes?

I can wash quite a few dishes in five minutes and suddenly my kitchen counter is clean. I can spray a dust rag and swirl around my living room and have it spruced up and tidy. I can make the bed and within moments my bedroom feels less cluttered. I can sort though a stack of mail and sales flyers and get rid of a bundle of paper. Sure, it’s nice to have a little more time for a project, but I can root around the refrigerator and straighten it up in the time it takes for a pot of water to come to a boil. I can set a pretty table while the rolls warm. I can freshen my makeup and hair in the time it takes for my cup of tea to steep.

I suggest we stop waiting for lengths of time and use up our spare minutes and see what we can accomplish.

As a writer, I can use my five minute drive to the grocery store to ponder the current dilemma of my character. I can comment on a blog post or two and bless someone else in their writing journey. I can jot down the physical characteristics of a character that just popped into my story, I can look up synonyms or antonyms to help in my description of a scene, I can research how to bury a treasure, escape from prison, or dig a well. I can rewrite a sentence five times, I can write a review, I can make up a rhyme that will define one of my side characters.

I can send a note or a thank you card, return a call, send a few texts to touch base, download a Kindle book, browse my recent e-book purchase or any number of other things in a small little collection of five tiny minutes.

We wait for blocks of time to accomplish things, but if we use our spare minutes to take care of the little items on our daily lists; we might be able to free up chunks to use for writing that memoir, brilliant novel, or famed children’s story.

What can you do with five minutes well used? Let us know! You can inspire us and others.

Pat M.

Amazon Author

www.ChildrensChurchStuff.com

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What can you do with 5 minutes?

  1. susan says:

    I just spent 5 minutes trying to think of something I could do in five minutes so I could post a comment. I believe I have writers block. I will have to get back to you on this.

    Like

  2. bredkrums says:

    I’m using up 5 minutes to comment on your blog. I have many 5 minute blocks of time, now I just have to remember to make them more productive. Great ideas!

    Michelle

    Like

  3. Bev says:

    Can you really tidy up your fridge in 5 minutes? I once found cheese in mine that had expired three years previously. Your point is well taken, tho. We fritter away precious time… so this afternoon I’m going to write that scene in chapter 6 that I’ve been putting off. Thanks, Pat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

