Books, Books, Books!

Do you know how many books you read last year?  Do you read two or three a month?  Five?  I’ve heard more than once that writers are also readers.  And if you could see the piles of books around my house, you would guess I might be a writer. 

Last year, I read 73 books and the year before 65.  My mom had given me a little booklet from the local library to keep track.  I read writing books, mysteries, parenting books, homeschooling titles, religious books, romance, and some historical and memoir.

I don’t know if I’ll read more books this year than last year, but I will definitely be reading dozens of titles throughout the next twelve months.

This time of year, where I live, there’s nothing better than curling up with a blanket, sipping hot cocoa and relishing a great story.  I love to learn about other countries and careers by reading books that take place where I’ve never been and through characters who hold jobs I wouldn’t dream of having.    

Someday I’ll have my own books out, similar to what I love to read and hopefully readers will curl up with one, sipping hot cocoa.  I love all kinds of books, some old, some new and some in between. 

I also review several books each year, and discover new authors.  And I buy as many books as I can, to support the authors who write them.  We writers have to help each other out, after all.

If you haven’t kept track of how many books you’ve read in a year, it’s not too late to start this year.  Just keep a spreadsheet on your computer or a small notebook or tablet handy in your reading area and just for fun, see how many you read this year.  You might be surprised.

My book is calling me….happy reading!

Michelle

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Books, Books, Books!

  1. Susan Korich says:

    I am impressed with the number of books you average reading a year. For those of us lactose intolerant, it will be hot coffee or tea, please. No hogging the blanket it is 16 degrees tonight, a whopping heat wave compared to the -7 the night before. Happy reading.

    Like

  2. Bev says:

    How about Sonic iced tea? And a dog curled up on my lap. I like to read books anywhere anytime and almost any kind (can’t quite get excited about science fiction)…but most especially I like to read mysteries. Yummy, spine tingling, scary mysteries! Never thought of counting them, tho. Good idea, Michelle. Thanks..
    Bev

    Like

  3. I’m with you totally! I slacked off my reading last year when I was working so hard to get the books published on the Kindle store. But I’m back on track this year! Already finished my first book. And I have a spreadsheet on my computer. And a poodle on my lap.
    Pat

    Like

  4. bredkrums says:

    Hey, putting books on the Kindle store works in my book 🙂
    Michelle

    Like

Leave a Reply

