Overwhelming Publishing Choices

I’m feeling a little conflicted, overwhelmed, torn, contradictory…I’m sure there’s a few more, but you get the idea.  I feel like there’s a blizzard in my head, not of snow, but of ideas and different avenues to getting a novel published.

My dream since early childhood has been to get a book published.  In those days, the Internet and the World Wide Web did not exist.  There was no such thing as an ebook, email or ecommerce.  So, I believe that what I wanted was to get a book published and see it in book form sitting on a library or book shelf.  With my name on its cover.

Now, with so many ways to publish a book and get it ‘out there’, my options are many.  And I can be in control if I publish it myself.  However, I do not want to take this control lightly and just throw something out there just because it can be downloaded or printed on demand.  I want to put my best foot forward, or in this case, a quality product, which would be my books.

So this new technology scares me and excites me at the same time.  If I went with a traditional hardcover publisher, did you know it can take up to two years before my book came out if it sold today?  That’s a long time to wait.  If I take the same book and have an editor go over it with a red pen and make suggested changes, I could have it ready for the Kindle in days.

Days.

It’s quite overwhelming to think about.  And it makes me nervous.  It has always been a challenge to see if I could get a book published with a traditional publisher, but then there is always the possibility of hearing no.  Who wants to do all this work, just to hear no?  

Plus the fact that it is NOT easy to write a book.  Of any kind, fact or fiction.  It takes a lot of time, thinking, typing, and sometimes tears to write a book.  I feel that I have been called to write since I was a young child.  If I am going to write them, then I need readers.  Going with an e-book could get me readers faster, but I still want my stories to be excellent. 

Worthy of any money spent.

Today’s technology changes the ways a book can be published– I can either embrace the opportunities or ignore them. 

How about you?  What are your thoughts?

Michelle

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

