Social Media: an Oxymoron

I know it’s going to sound unconventional, but I’m getting ready to blog a book. It’s unconventional for me because I don’t like most of today’s technology; like the IPad, the IPod, the Nook, and the Kindle.  I don’t ‘do’ Facebook, Twitter or any of that other social media stuff. 

Human beings are living, breathing social creatures, not robots or computers.  So by using social media to be ‘social’ is akin to having a two-ton elephant as a household pet. Social media is one of the worst oxymorons of our day and makes no sense. I don’t know who coined the actual phrase, ‘social media’ but they didn’t know what they were talking about.  Perhaps it’s social for the media, but certainly not the humans.

I don’t even have a smart phone; I guess mine is considered dumb.  But that’s ok; it does take photos and will reach those on my contact list and connect to 911 if an emergency should arise.

Anyway, it took me a long time to understand the point of blogging, too.  I don’t read very many blogs, not because I’m not interested, but because my computer is used mostly for writing, because that is what I do.  But my friends and I started this blog a little over a year ago, for practice and to see if we could get some readers—we don’t have very many.

But apparently there are lots of people out there who do read blogs, and I thought I would start blogging one of my books for fun.  I have friends who are waiting for it already because I mentioned I might blog one starting this summer.  So we’ll see how it goes.

But I’m still not into social media in case you ask.  I don’t think blogging counts, but I’m not sure.  Especially if there isn’t anyone on the other side to receive it.  It can’t be very social if it’s one-sided, right?

So what is your opinion on social media?  Do you like it, use it, hate it?  Does it add any meaning to your life?  Am I missing out?  I would love to hear your thoughts—but only by email! 🙂 

Michelle

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Social Media: an Oxymoron

  1. Jeff Goins says:

    The irony here is that blogging itself is a form of social media. 🙂

    Like any tool, it can be used, misused, even abused. But at the end of the day, it’s a means to an end, not the end itself. And what is that end? Connection, I believe. Sometimes, it helps, and sometimes gets in the way. The trick, I think, is to be clear about your intentions up front.

    Like

    • bredkrums says:

      Thanks for visiting, Jeff! You’re right, there’s a pro and con to everything, including social media. But right now, our blog isn’t as social. Maybe it will be eventually.

      Perhaps I will be mostly a blogger to connect with others, and not use the other kinds of social media. I have to balance my time.

      Like

  2. Well said Michelle 🙂 I don’t even own a dumb-phone as I still use a landline and that’s it! I like Facebook as it can be a great way to reconnect with friends and family…but for me, the social aspect of it all is what you do AFTER you have reconnected! Do you visit those “new-old” friends or family members? Do you call them on the phone? Like Jeff said above, you can use it or misuse it and yes, if your Facebook or other social media is more about playing Farmville or something similar…you – the general you – may need to rethink your social-ness 🙂 And I think you’re right…a blog does not count as “social media”. On the other hand, if you garner a community out of it, then maybe it IS social?!

    Take care and all the best.

    Like

    • bredkrums says:

      Lyle, thanks for visiting! Mabye this blog will count as “social media” someday–if we keep getting comments like yours 🙂 I just prefer to be social face to face, that’s the way I’m wired. I may eventually have to use other forms of social media, but for now it seems a waste of time.

      Have a good one!
      Michelle

      Like

Leave a Reply

