Friday’s thoughts

My writer friends have posted lately regarding time, weddings, funerals, and the like. A central theme has surfaced of the fleeting-ness of our days. Nostalgia has taken over my sensibilities. My time has been much occupied with wedding plans, company, menus, shopping, crafting and the like so I have just now read through the recent posts and shed an abundance of tears.

Perhaps the tears were just waiting to pour forth, they just needed a trigger. And pour forth they did. Not the sobbing, gushing kind of tears; but the tears that gently run down your cheeks and you wonder when they will stop. Not the kind that break your heart, but rather bring it comfort. The tears of sweet thoughts and fond memories, of understanding and awareness, of the reality of life bursting into the forefront of your mind. Those tears. The ones that are quiet and gentle, but cleanse like a power washer.

I love to laugh and I love to joke. Seriously. Probably more than I should. But I also love to ponder and wonder and meditate on serious stuff. And that is the mood I find myself in today.

In reading through the last few posts I am reminded of the joy of life and the solemnity of a life passing. I am stirred once again that our days are precious and our years are whisking by and that we should enjoy each passing moment. It is not a new reflection; but one that needs reminding again and again.

And I am grateful for the nudge. Enjoy today I shall. Join me, won’t you?

pat

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday’s thoughts

  1. Bev says:

    Gratitude, joy, reflecting…taking time. Good stuff, Pat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

