Time Tips

What is something you can’t manage, can’t save, can’t accumulate, can’t find and can’t buy?

Time.

Nobody has more or less of it than you or I do.  We all get 24 hours in a day.  But some people are far more productive with their time than others.  Many of us are busy.  But busy does not always mean productive.

Would you rather be busy or productive?  I prefer productive.  One thing that helps increase my productivity is to make ‘To Do Lists’ that help me stay focused.  I am easily distracted by things going on around me and can waste half hour increments reading the “news” on the Internet.  I will try to limit my computer “reading” until I’m done with my work and see if I can increase output in my writing life.  Surely it will help.

Though it sounds counterintuitive, using some time to get rid of junk and clutter helps also.  If we don’t have to work around, step over, slide across, sort, refill, fix or take care of stuff in our way, that is a big time booster.  It also saves time on dusting!

We are bombarded by constant noise from TVs, radios, phones, computers and traffic.  Our bodies have to use energy to process this stimuli, even if it’s in the background or across the room.  It distracts our attention and thus it takes more time to get a task done than it would in quieter surroundings.  If possible, turn it off.

I am not a morning person.  But today I got up a little earlier and all day, felt more productive and got more done than I had planned.  They say the early bird gets the worm, and that means he can get more of them!  Try to get up a little earlier and get a task off your list first thing and you might carry that through the whole day, thus getting even more done.  It’s similar to the snowball effect.

Try to avoid carrying bottled water, coffee mugs, or cans of soda around.  These are just more items to keep track of or spill and make more messes with.  Besides the cost in money, there’s the extra calories (unless water) and mental energy to be aware of and refill, or wash, or recycle the container. Yes, 64 ounces of water a day is recommended, but do you have to carry it everywhere?

When you’re on a task, stay focused on it.  We think we can multi-task, but it just means the three things we are doing at once aren’t getting done well.  And then these tasks sometimes have to be redone which does not save time.

Though there are many ways to “save” time, these are some suggestions to help you be more productive.  If you can think of more, feel free to send them my way.

Have a great and productive day!

Michelle

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

