The Sky is Falling

If Chicken Little ran around yelling, “The sky is falling!” who would care?  But I feel like taking his place and yelling, “The bookstores are closing, the bookstores are closing!”

All my life I have loved words and books.  And you find books in bookstores.  If there are no bookstores, you can only find books online or at garage sales.  But I like to smell the book, hear the spine crack as I open it and flip the pages.  And to read the back cover and feel the book’s weight in my hand.  Are the page edges ragged or smooth?  Are the pages cream or white?  Smooth and glossy or textured?

E-books may be great for some, but not for me.  And how do you sign one?  A hundred years from now, will anybody care if a bestselling author ‘signed’ your e-book?  Really?

The more I hear about brick and mortar stores closing, the more worried I get.  It’s not just bookstores because I love them.  But if you think about it, when stores close, there are no workers at those stores.  The order people, the stock people, the cashiers, the janitors, the office managers, and on and on it goes– they’re gone.  So where do those workers go?  To the bread line.  Doesn’t anyone see the problem with this?  Where are the brainiacs and the powers that be?  Can’t they see that this is only going to cause the country to flat line? 

Beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep.

 I feel like my world is shrinking to bits and bytes and bleeping machines.  It’s pathetic.

Somebody hand me a book, quick.  A real one.

Michelle

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Sky is Falling

  1. Laurie says:

    As I have been on a long road to completing my education, it has amazed me how things have changed even in the last 15 years. Everything I need to do, I can do online. But somehow it just isn’t the same. When I really need to study or understand something, I need to have the actual book in my hand. I love technology, don’t get me wrong, but there are somethings that can’t be improved upon.

    Strange that all of this was just discussed electronically.

    Like

    • bredkrums says:

      There are pros and cons to everything, technology included. But, I prefer to hold and highlight in my books and turn the pages. We’ll have to discuss it in person next time I see you:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

