Ready for Autumn

This year, seeing the reds, golds and yellows of the leaves hanging on the trees before they drop has caught my eye.  Maybe it’s due to the miserable hot summer we suffered.  The leaves remind me that fall is here and winter is around the corner.  It is time to enjoy the slower pace of life and like nature, rest and restore for another year. 

With shorter days and colder nights coming, I’m looking forward to sitting wrapped in an afghan while enjoying a book and a cup of cocoa by the fire.  Hearing a fire crackle and seeing the orange and red or blue and green flames is one of my favorite fall and winter sights. 

This year we had such a hot dry summer, I also can’t wait to bake again.  My son loves my cinnamon rolls, and we enjoy pumpkin bread, chocolate zucchini cake, peanut butter bars, oatmeal chocolate chip cookies and many other delectable delights.  I might even get back to baking bread again.  And I just checked out some soup books from the library.  I think I might tackle making some homemade vegetable, beef barley or cream of broccoli soups.  Imagine it with homemade bread!  My mouth is watering as I write this.  There’s just something about homemade soup and bread that nourishes the soul as well as the body.

Those days are just around the corner, and I’m looking forward to them!  What do you look forward to during this season?

Michelle

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

