Loving the Creative Process

I’ve been in a creating mood lately. My goal at the beginning of this year was that everyone that I gift to at Christmas would receive a homemade gift. That goal waned fairly quickly. This summer it has re-surged aggressively. My knitting needles have been humming along. And I’ve been having fun. Lots more projects are planned, not all knitting!

 Last evening I was working on my project for my granddaughter and contemplating the whole creative process. I love to contemplate, so when I have a quiet moment, that is where my brain goes.

 I watched the yarn pass through my fingers and thought, again (I have done this often through the decades) that He knitted me while I was still in my mother’s womb (see Psalm 139).

I have known for most of my life that I was not a “planned” child. That’s ok. I’ve never minded that. I became a Christian when I was a child and I knew very young that I was planned, just not by my parents. My mother did not want another child at the time, she had two. And she was using precautions (not just one type of precaution, mind you). And yet, I appeared on the scene.

On top of that, she did not want another girl. My older brother was an easy baby, my older sister was quite the opposite. So, I showed up in all my female glory. She was discouraged.

But He knew I was coming and He knitted me while I was in the womb regardless of the concern my mother may have had. (I feel I should tell you that my mom and I have always been close. I don’t want to give the wrong impression.)

Anyway, as I was knitting I watched the fact that every piece of the yarn has to pass through the knitter’s fingers. Every little bit. It’s such a lovely thought to think that every bit of who I am passed through His fingers. Nothing escaped His touch. Isn’t that a beautiful reality?

As a proficient knitter, I can make adjustments to my project anytime I want. I can repair knitted items without anyone knowing it ever needed repair. People bring me sweaters that need fixing all the time. When they are returned, they usually cannot find where the tear was. Not because I’m stupendous, just because I totally understand knitting. I know how to retrace the pattern and fix it like I was making it for the first time.

Additionally, people bring knitting projects to me that they are struggling with. That happens to me everywhere: on the job, from friends, through email, and any other way possible. I have figured out where people have gone wrong and helped them get it corrected, I have figured out where the pattern is wrong and corrected that, and everything in between. Only because I understand knitting.

Don’t you think He can do the same for us? After all, He is the Creator (with a big Capital C). He can help us correct things that we’ve messed up, or repair damage caused by sin or wrong choices. And I even think He can repair it without it noticeable to the naked eye.

I love the creative process. And I serve a Creator God. He created us and He will repair us. We can trust that. Who is more of a Creator than our God?

pat
writer/knitter

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Loving the Creative Process

  1. Megan aka Pat's favorite daughter-in-law says:

    Pat,
    I’m still waiting on that knitted blanket for the end of my bed…

    Like

    • Michelle says:

      Yes, our God is definitely creative! I have a few blankets with holes, I’ll bring them next time I see you! I won’t blame the dog chewing on his bone…while on the blankets.

      Like

  2. Summer says:

    Love this description! May I print it as a reminder???

    Like

Leave a Reply

