Adventures of a Different Kind

I love to travel.  I like to see new places and meet new people. 

My husband is retired from the Air Force.  We have been married almost 15 years, but he has been retired for almost 11 of that time.  When we married, he was no longer on flying status which meant he didn’t get sent anywhere.  Except to Texas for a one-week class.

Have I been to Hawaii?  No.  Have I been to Japan or England? Nada. Germany? Nope.  Italy or France? No.

We were stationed at one base before his retirement, and that base was one hour from where I grew up.  I have the most boring military travel history on the planet.

But my life has been far from boring.  My first husband died of skin cancer.  I remarried and we had two children before he retired. 

The summer of his retirement was interesting:  I gave birth to child number two, child number one turned two, we bought our first house, I had an infection from my tear, my father-in-law came to visit for a few days for child number one’s birthday party, my husband got hired over the phone for a new job in a state 450 miles away, child number two spent four days at Children’s Hospital for seizures she didn’t have (thank the good Lord), child number one had her second eye surgery and we moved.  All in 30 days. 

Yep, my life is not dull.

A week after we moved to our new location, 9/11 happened.  I thought I was listening to a science fiction story on the radio at first.  I couldn’t figure out what was going on.  I thought the world had gone crazy.  I thought I would go crazy.

I asked my husband if we had to go back.  “No, I have my papers,” he answered.  Whew.

Fast forward a few years and I found myself feeling like I had the flu.  Turns out it was the 9 month kind.  Our unexpected bundle of baby boy was born that next January.  He is now finishing Kindergarten.

Fast forward a few more years and I thought I was going through menopause.  (I have had some peri-menopause symptoms, so this was possible.)  However, there was an abruptness to it that isn’t characteristic of menopause.  Surprise number two was coming at age 41.  She even gave me a blood clot, followed by twice a day injections until she was six weeks old.

We were now busting out the seams of our house so we put it on the market.  And tried to continue our home school.  Key word: tried.  With the pregnancy and the dog, then the baby and the dog in the heat of summer.  Fun times.  It took awhile to find our new home, but we did and we still love it.  We also sold the old one a few months after Christmas which was a huge blessing.

Yes, my life may not have included nearly as much travel as I would like, but it has been far from dull.

And I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

Michelle

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

