Homegrown or Homemade, Please

The more I go out and about, the more I want to stay home.  If it isn’t the traffic or crazy drivers, it’s the stuff in the stores and restaurants that came from who knows where.

Several months ago I was playing with a plastic juice bottle at my parent’s house.  I don’t remember the brand, but when I looked at the product information, I read the juice was made in China.  Needless to say, the rest of the contents got dumped immediately.  I don’t eat or drink stuff from China.  Not unless they have an FDA or similar agency I don’t know about.

Last week, my hubby went to the doctor to make sure he didn’t have strep along with the crud he unfortunately shared with me.  He went to Target afterward to look for the generic form of Tylenol.  One box he picked up and took up to the pharmacy counter.  He asked, “Why would I want to buy medicine from India?”  They didn’t have an answer.  Ugh.  Okay, India is fine for placemats, tablecloths and blankets.  Medicine….not so much.

What have we gotten ourselves into?  Our country is so bent on the almighty dollar we are buying and paying for substandard products in every arena.  There is a reason the United States has the FDA and all those other agencies.  It’s supposed to protect us from unwanted disease and ingredients that aren’t good for us.  These other countries aren’t regulated and now make some of our common products.  Not good.

I’m all for homemade and homegrown, but I can’t make Tylenol.  Be careful what you pick up from the shelf and check to make sure it’s grown or manufactured in a country with some semblance of oversight.  Buyer beware!

Michelle

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

