Pondering

There are so many pulls on us, aren’t there? What to do with our time? Which friend to call on when we need a friend? How are we to get the meals cooked, clothes cleaned, houses tidied? What writing project to work on? How are we to schedule our time to get gifts purchased or crafted; files maintained; correspondence answered; bills paid; bodies exercised; bodies rested … etc? 

There are a lot of pulls.

And then there are the days like today. It was rainy this morning, has been rainy for a few days. Today I would like to curl up in my over-sized chair with a cup of tea and a notebook and ponder. I would like to ponder God’s goodness. Healing scriptures. God’s favor. What a future holds for my grandchildren. And my children. And me. What am I to do next? Is one of the projects on my plate one that I am “supposed” to be working on? Or do I need to work on all of them for a segmented period of time each week? Oh … what …. what … what …

I love to ponder. I love to think. I love to think deeply. And wonder. That is my mood today. It started early and has continued.

So I wonder … what is stirring in your heart? What thought would you like to mull over until you have an answer. Are you at a crossroads and have no earthly idea which turn to take? I know exactly how you feel.

Of course, if you are a Christian there is comfort in that you do not ponder alone. Our pondering is more like meditation. Our meditation is more like quieting our souls before Him awaiting an answer or direction. Our waiting is a time of faith building.

I have some questions, Lord. I’m pondering … and waiting …

pat

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pondering

  1. Michelle says:

    I have been pondering for almost two years on what it looks like to love God with all your heart, all your mind and all your soul. I don’t think I know anyone personally who does. We are too distracted, too selfish and too undisciplined. Still learning…still pondering….

    Like

Leave a Reply

