My Chocolate Bredkrums

Pat’s  great word…quotidian…got me thinking about how lazy my  language skills have gotten lately. Alas, I think texting is the culprit or at least a major contributor and it will take real effort to overcome the negative effects of communicating with single letters. U C?   At any rate, I was thinking it would be fun to come up  with a great word for the day, when the phone rang and a friend unknowingly dropped a delightful word right onto my lap.

My caller said that she wanted to celebrate spring with a potluck luncheon. Just a few of us, and we would each bring something to eat. The menu was already set, and I was to bring a salad. A Snickers salad. My friend said she would e-mail me the recipe and would see me on Thursday. Oh, and she laughed and said that she had tasted the salad once and it was yummy. And easy. Two of my favorite things.

And just like that, I had my word. Oxymoron. Expression with contradictory words. And how much more contradictory can words get than Snickers (yes, as in the candy bar) and salad (yes, as in lettuce).

So, my Bredkrum of the week is to share with you that unusual tasty treat. Hope you like it too.

Snickers Salad

Ingredient

1  8 oz. package of cream cheese, softened

1 cup powdered sugar

1 12 oz. container of Cool Whip, thawed

6 Snicker candy bars

6 Granny Smith apples (you can vary the apples but the recipe doesn’t work as well with soft apples)

Directions

  1. Mix cream cheese and powdered sugar until well blended
  2. Fold in Cool Whip
  3. Cut Snickers into bite sized chunks and add to cream cheese mixture
  4. Chop the apples into chunks and stir
  5. Chill 1 hour before serving
  6.  Chilling for a long period of time will result in liquid being released from the salad
  7. This recipe is from Food.com /By Lorilindiana

This fits several categories of “should nots” (Cool whip…holy cow. Cream cheese…nope. Snickers bars..don’t even think about it!!! Although it does have apples in it…how bad can THAT be?)  However, my friend was right. On a limited —one time only probably—basis, it was yummy!

Bev.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Chocolate Bredkrums

  1. Pat says:

    I dunno. I’m gonna have to try it. I cannot imagine it. At all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

